Skip to Main Content

VIVA: Open Textbook Network Coordinating Committee

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.


Resources and Links

Open Education Network Coordinating Committee


The Open Education Network Coordinating Committee supports the VIVA Open Education Network (formerly Open Textbook Network) Program by identifying challenges and opportunities within the program, encouraging collaboration among campus and system leaders, and identifying specific opportunities for further development of the OEN program in Virginia.


This committee is tasked with regularly communicating opportunities with OEN leaders across the state and answering programmatic questions. This includes identifying and organizing training and educational opportunities (both virtual and in-person), noting collaboration and leadership opportunities, responding to assessment and outreach questions, and providing relevant open resource topics of interest to VIVA OEN leaders via the listserv. This committee serves as a liaison between OACCC and the VIVA OEN Leaders, and regularly updates OACCC on the state of the VIVA OEN program, including what if any support needs the program has. This committee may tap other System Leaders, outside of the Coordinating Committee, as needed for training/support needs within Virginia.


Coordinating Committee Members

David Black
Mary Baldwin University
(term through 12/31/2023)

Mark Hamilton
Longwood University
(term through 12/31/2023)

Mary Hanlin
Thomas Nelson Community College
(term through 12/31/2022)

Karen Vaughan
Old Dominion University
(term through 12/31/2023)