Skip to Main Content

VIVA: Collections Committee

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

VIVA Collections Committee

The Collections Committee investigates products, recommends licensing or renewal, and maintains vendor contacts for VIVA electronic databases and journals. More information is available in VIVA's Organizational Plan.

Composition: 15 members selected by the directors of their representative groups. Representation should include 8 public doctoral schools, 3 public comprehensive schools, 2 public two-year schools, and 2 independent colleges or universities. Membership composition will reflect expertise in a broad range of subjects: collection development and management, scholarly publishing, acquisitions practices, user experience, technology, collection analysis, and assessment. 



Committee Chair

Crystal Newell
Piedmont Virginia Community College

Committee Vice Chair

Laura Morales
William & Mary

Institutional Representatives

Alison Armstrong
Radford University
Standing Member

Jennifer Beach
Longwood University
Term expires 6/30/26

Beth Blanton-Kent
University of Virginia
Standing Member

Karen Cary
Virginia Commonwealth University
Standing Member

Anna Creech
University of Richmond
Term expires 6/30/27

Shaunna Hunter
Hampden-Sydney College
Term expires 6/30/27

LaTisha Lankford
Virginia State University
Term expires 6/30/24

Edward Lener
Virginia Tech
Standing Member

Helen McManus
George Mason University
Standing Member

Marci Myers
Central Virginia Community College
Term expires 6/30/24

Sarah Pritchard
James Madison University
Standing Member

Tamara Remhof
Germanna Community College
Term expires 6/30/26

Rob Tench
Old Dominion University
Standing Member

Alicia Willson-Metzger
Christopher Newport University
Term expires 6/30/26

Ex Officio

Tara Cassidy
Virginia Community College System

Genya O'Gara

Summer Durrant