MARC Records for Ebook Collections
Content listed on this page refers only to ebook collections/materials shared by all VIVA public institutions. If you have any problems retrieving records or have any questions, please write VIVA at firstname.lastname@example.org.
VIVA Collection: APA Books E-Collections 2010-2017
- A consolidated file of MARC records for VIVA's perpetual access titles is available here.
VIVA Collection: Classical Studies: 2016-present; Language and Linguistics: 2016, 2018-2020; Literature and Cultural Studies: 2016-2020; Middle East and Islamic Studies: 2017-present; Social Sciences: 2016, 2018-2020 Social Sciences I: 2017.
Content shared by public institutions: Diversity Bundle of 57 titles.
- Gale provides custom MARC record sets on an institution-level basis due to the need to incorporate the Gale location ID into the URLs..
Content shared by public institutions: Releases 1, 2, and 3.
Oxford University Press
VIVA Collection: Oxford Scholarship Online Febuary 2015 forward; UPSO upload dates May 2017 to January 2021 for Columbia University Press, MIT Press (ended in 2020), New York University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press (ended in 2020), University of Chicago Press, University of Mississippi Press, University of Minnesota Press, University of North Carolina Press, University Press of Florida, University Press of Kentucky, and Yale University Press; UPSO upload dates May 2019 to January 20210 for Cornell, Edinburgh, and Princeton.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: MARC records are emailed directly to institutions from OUP ten times per year - every month except February and July.
- University Press Scholarship Online: MARC records are emailed directly to institutions from OUP three times per year - in May, September, and January.
VIVA Collection: both packages mentioned below.
- Academic Complete and College Complete: MARC records are available from ProQuest's FTP server. Institutions will use local credentials to access.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education. To retrieve MARC records, download them from the Administration page in your O'Reilly account, or by going to https://www.oreilly.com/marc/.
VIVA Collection: Behavioral Science (Behavioral Science & Psychology starting in 2016) 2005, 2013 forward; Biomedical and Life Sciences 2005, 2013-2020; Computer Science 2005, 2013-2017; Earth and Environmental Science 2005, 2013-2014.
- Springer publishes new books in most disciplines on a weekly basis and creates MARC records as books are loaded to the Springer Nature platform. These records are sent to OCLC each week, and there is generally a delay of 5 to 7 days as OCLC staff and members turn Springer MARC records into enriched OCLC collection sets. All MARC information for Springer, including title lists, is available at https://www.springernature.com/gp/librarians/tools-services/implement/marc-records, which is updated monthly and includes a MARC Records Implementation Guide.
Although you can get the records directly from Springer's website, libraries often prefer to retrieve them from OCLC WorldShare because it allows them to subscribe to particular collections. Springer advises that libraries select the option on their OCLC order/self-profile that says "Retain only the first 856 field that has a $u which contains the set domain URL." (The set domain being SpringerLink.) This will prevent multiple 856$u links for the other aggregator services that license Springer e-books.
Taylor & Francis
VIVA Collection: all T&F Ebooks and CRCnetBASE content 2015 forward in an evidence-based collection.
- Option 1: request MARC records directly after logging in to the Taylor & Francis Librarian Dashboard. Institutions will use local credentials to access. More information on available MARC download options are available in this support article. These MARC records will include both VIVA-provided entitlements and any institution-specific entitlements.
- Option 2: entitlements are synced by the vendor to the VIVA-shared Taylor & Francis All eBooks collection in Worldshare Collection Manager approximately every two weeks. To retrieve MARC records, select the collection and enable MARC record delivery. These MARC records will include only VIVA entitlements.
- Option 3: You also have the option of setting up holdings automation directly from your institution-specific account via the Taylor & Francis Librarian Dashboard and following the instructions provided by OCLC and then enabling MARC record delivery for the Worldshare collection (not the VIVA-shared collection).
VIVA Collection: Usage-Based Collection Model ebooks.