Skip to Main Content

VIVA: SCHEV Library Advisory Committee

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

SCHEV Library Advisory Committee

The Library Advisory Committee (LAC) is one of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV)'s Advisory Committees.  The LAC advises in areas related to policy, planning, and operations as these affect academic libraries in Virginia.  The LAC may assist SCHEV in:

  • Formulating statewide policies that affect academic libraries;
  • Compiling data about and reporting on the work of academic libraries in Virginia;
  • Developing and funding academic library strategies and initiatives that advance and invigorate research and instruction for higher education in Virginia.

The LAC consists of Library representatives from 21 public (all 15 four year and doctoral institutions, Richard Bland College, and five VCCS representatives) and three private colleges and universities. This committee also includes the Director of Library Services for VCCS, Librarian of Virginia, and VIVA Director, and reports to the Director for Academic Affairs and Planning for SCHEV,


Public Institutions (standing members):

  • Mary Sellen, Christopher Newport University
  • Dr. Bethany Nowviskie, James Madison University
  • Donald Essex, Norfolk State University
  • Dr. Carrie Cooper, William and Mary
  • Timothy Hackman, Old Dominion University
  • Heather Hannan, UVA-Wise
  • Dr. Irene Herold, Virginia Commonwealth University (Chair)
  • Tim Hurley, Richard Bland College
  • Dr. Laura Jacobsen, Radford University
  • Amy Filiatreau, University of Mary Washington
  • Tessa Perry, Virginia State University
  • Brent Roberts, Longwood University
  • Pongrácz Sennyey, Virginia Military Institute
  • Dr. John Unsworth, University of Virginia
  • Dr. Tyler Walters, Virginia Tech
  • Anne Osterman, George Mason University

Public Two Year Institutions (representatives):

  • Steven Litherland, Tidewater Community College
  • Matt Todd, Northern Virginia Community College
  • Hong Wu, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College
  • Cirrus Gundlach, Paul D. Camp Community College
  • Elizabeth Hadley, Rappahannock Community College

Private Institutions (representatives):

  • Alison Gregory, Marymount University (term expires 6/30/26)
  • Andrew Pearson, Bridgewater College (term expires 6/30/24)
  • Kevin Butterfield, University of Richmond (term expires 6/30/24)

Administrative Representatives

  • Tara Cassidy, Virginia Community College System
  • Dennis Clark, Library of Virginia
  • Genya O'Gara, VIVA Director

Ex Officio (VIVA Standing Committee Chairs)

  • Crystal Newell, Piedmont Virginia Community College
  • Lisa Broughman, Randolph College
  • Ruth Castillo, Emory & Henry College