Skip to Main Content

VIVA: Steering Committee

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

VIVA Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides leadership for the Virtual Library of Virginia and reports to the Library Advisory Committee of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV).

Composition: 8 Doctorals, 3 Comprehensives, 1 2-Yr School, 2 Independents, plus the VCCS Director of Library Services, LAC Chair, Immediate Past Steering Committee Chair, and Chairs of all VIVA standing committees.


Committee Chair

Dr. Bethany Nowviskie
James Madison University
Chair term expires 6/30/25

Institutional Representatives

Tara Cassidy
Virginia Community College System
Standing Member

Dr. Carrie Cooper
William and Mary
Standing Member

Donald Essex
Norfolk State University
Term expires 6/30/26

Cirrus Gundlach
Paul D. Camp Community College
Term expires 6/30/25

Timothy Hackman
Old Dominion University
Standing Member

Dr. Irene Herold
Virginia Commonwealth University
Standing Member

Dr. Laura Jacobsen
Radford University
Standing Member

Andrew Kulp
Shenandoah University
Term expires 6/30/24

Alison Gregory
Marymount University
Term expires 6/30/26

Elizabeth McClenney
Roanoke College
Term expires 6/30/27

Anne Osterman
George Mason University
Standing Member

Tessa Perry
Virginia State University
Term expires 6/30/24

Dr. Brent Roberts
Longwood University
Term expires 6/30/24

Dr. John Unsworth
University of Virginia
Standing Member

Dr. Tyler Walters
Virginia Tech
Standing Member

Ex Officio

Lisa Broughman
Randolph College
Outreach Chair

Ruth Castillo
Emory & Henry College
Resource Sharing Chair

Steven Litherland
Tidewater Community College
Open and Affordable Course Content Chair

Crystal Newell
Piedmont Virginia Community College
Collections Chair

Genya O'Gara
VIVA Director