Skip to main content

VIVA: Public Core Collection

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

 

Core Collections of VIVA Content

The VIVA Public Institution Core Collection

VIVA maintains a core collection of resources for the public institutions.  This content is available at all 39 public member libraries.

Current Subscriptions/Purchases:

Academic Video Online (AVON)

ACM Digital Library

ACS Journals, All Pubs package

ABC-CLIO: America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts

American History in Video

BioOne Complete

Brill Ebooks

  • Classical Studies (2016-present)
  • Languages and Linguistics (2016-2017, 2018-2020)
  • Literature and Cultural Studies (2016-2020)
  • Middle Eastern Studies (2017-present)
  • Social Sciences (2016, 2017-I, 2018-2020)

Docuseek2 Essential Collection

EBSCO Databases

  • CINAHL with Full Text
  • EBSCOhost Collection, including Academic Search Complete; Alt HealthWatch; Associates Programs Source; Business Source Complete; Communication & Mass Media Complete; Computers & Applied Sciences Complete; Consumer Health Complete; Education Research Complete; Environment Complete; Fuente Academica; Health Source - Consumer Edition; Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition; Hospitality & Tourism Complete; Humanities International Complete: Legal Collection; MasterFILE Premier; MedicLatina; Military & Government Collection; Newspaper Source Plus; Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection; Religion and Philosophy Collection; Salud en Espanol (CHC Spanish Version); Vente et Gestion; Women's Studies International
  • EconLit with Full Text
  • MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
  • Political Science Complete
  • SocINDEX with Full Text

Factiva (Dow Jones)

Films on Demand Master Academic Collection and Archival Films and Newsreels Collection

Gale Diversity Bundle Ebooks

Gale Indigenous Peoples of North America

Gale Literature Resource Center

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era: 1857-1865, Reconstruction I: 1866-1871, and Reconstruction II: 1872-1877

HistoryMakers Digital Archive

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

IOP Journals and IOP Ebooks Releases 1, 2, and 3

Journal of Cell Biology

Mergent Online, Horizon, and Analytics

Nature

New England Journal of Medicine

OCLC FirstSearch/WorldCat Discovery, also with ArticleFirst, Medline, Electronic Books, ECO A&I, Clase and Periodica, ERIC, GPO, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat Dissertations & Theses, OAIster, and ArchiveGrid

O'Reilly for Higher Education

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford Reference Premium

Oxford Scholarship Online (2015-present)

Oxford University Press Journals, custom package

Project Muse Standard Collection

ProQuest Academic Complete and College Complete

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest African American Poetry, American Poetry, English Poetry, and English Drama

PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO

Readex African Americans and Reconstruction, 1865-1883 and African Americans and Jim Crow, 1883-1922

SAGE Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, and Nursing Video Collections

Science

SciTech Premium Collection, with GeoRef, Sports Medicine and Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index), and Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Social Explorer

Springer Ebooks

  • Behavioral Science/Behavioral Science & Psychology (2005, 2013-present)
  • Biomedical and Life Science (2005, 2013-2020)
  • Computer Science, including the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (2005, 2013-2017)
  • Earth and Environmental Science (2005, 2013-2014)

Taylor & Francis/CRCnetBase Evidence-Based Ebooks, all frontlist content 2015 forward

Ulrich's

Wiley Journals:  Database Model

Wiley UCBM Model Ebooks

 

Additional perpetual access content:

Annual Reviews, perpetual access for content from 2000 to 2016.

APA PsycBOOKS, 2010-2017

Cambridge University Press Journals, perpetual access for content from 2001 through 2007.

Duke University Press Journals, perpetual access for content from 2005 through 2007

EBL Ebook DDA Pilot Program, perpetual access to 43 purchased titles.

Elsevier Ebooks, 2013 (not including Chandos or Woodhead titles and not including the French, German, or Plastics Engineering Hanser titles) and 2014 (not including the French, German, or Spanish collections) ebook collections

University Press Scholarship Online

  • Columbia UP, New York U, Stanford UP, U of Chicago Press, U of Mississippi Press, U of Minnesota Press, U of North Carolina Press, UP of Florida, UP of Kentucky, and Yale UP (2016-2020)
  • Cornell, Edinburgh, and Princeton (2019-2020)
  • MIT Press and U of California Press (2016-2019)