Skip to main content

VIVA: Library of Virginia Featured Member Library

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

 

Member Library Interviews

VIVA Featured Member Library: The Library of Virginia

An Interview with Sandra Treadway, The Librarian and State Archivist of Virginia

Library of Virginia, The Brown Teacher Institute

What are three points of pride in your library?

  • The Library of Virginia -- the state library and archives at the seat of government --  houses the most comprehensive collection of books, manuscripts, public records, newspapers, maps, and other primary source material documenting Virginia history and government across four centuries that is available anywhere. 
  • In addition to our outstanding collection, our staff of librarians, archivists, and historians have deep knowledge of the collection and expertise in assisting users find the information they need, and I am intensely proud of the work they do. 
  • The Library has also been a leader among state libraries and archives in making its collection accessible to users, not only in person but through digitization.  The Library's digital collections, which are heavily used, can be found on our Virginia Memory website at: http://www.virginiamemory.com./

What are the most popular spot(s) in your library for your users?

  • The Library's reading rooms on the second floor are where researchers head, often beginning in the Local History and Genealogy Room and then moving on to view collections on microfilm or in manuscript format in the Archives Research Room.
  • Our meeting and conference rooms off our main lobby are popular places for the public, who visit us to attend programs and workshops and hear Virginia authors speak about their new works.
  • The Library's Exhibition Hall always has an interesting and informative display, using our collections to illustrate important aspects of Virginia history.

Which VIVA resource or service does your library value the most, and why?

  • The Library of Virginia currently purchases several databases through VIVA, which our users rely on heavily and that we could not afford without the power of the consortium to negotiate favorable licensing terms on members behalf.; Go VIVA!