Skip to main content

VIVA Final Subpages: Cooperative Borrowing

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

Cooperative Borrowing Program

The Cooperative Borrowing Program allows students, faculty, and staff at VIVA institutions to request to borrow materials on-site from any participating library. The following is a list of VIVA Member institutions and their status in this program. Click on the institution's name to view links to its student and faculty directories so that current status can be verified. Participating institutions may lend to borrowers from non-participating institutions at their discretion.

Participating Libraries

Blue Ridge Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?brcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: https://www.brcc.edu/directory/all.html

Student Directory: https://br.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp Students must login to myBRCC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books/audiobooks at a time for a 28 day lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is book cost.

Bluefield College

Library Website: http://www.bluefield.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.bluefield.edu/employee-directory/

Student Directory: https://mybc.bluefield.edu/ics Students must log into myBC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a 14 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.10/day up to a $10 maximum; replacement fee is item cost or comparable item cost for out of print books. Renewals allowed.

Bridgewater College

Library Website: http://libguides.bridgewater.edu/home

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.bridgewater.edu/online-directory

Student Directory:http://www.bridgewater.edu/online-directory

Lending Rules: 3 books at a time for a 28 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is book cost + $20 processing fee.

Christendom College

Library Website: http://library.christendom.edu

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://library.christendom.edu:81/library/old/ub_lookup.a5w

Student Directory: http://library.christendom.edu:81/library/old/ub_lookup.a5w Library can scan or enter Christendom College barcode to show status or proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a 28 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.10/day to a maximum of $10; replacement fee is book cost + $10 processing fee.

Christopher Newport University

Library Website: http://library.cnu.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://my.cnu.edu

Student Directory: http://my.cnu.edu Students & Faculty must log into their CNU Connect account to show status or proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 5 books/media at a time for 30 day/3 day lending periods, respectively. Overdue fines are $0.10/day for books and $1.00/day for media items; replacement fee is item cost or comparable item cost for out of print books. Renewals allowed.

College of William and Mary

Library Website: http://www.swem.wm.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://directory.wm.edu/people/

Student Directory: http://directory.wm.edu/people/

Alternate URL: Blackboard - https://blackboard.wm.edu/

Lending Rules: 10 books or gov't docs at a time for a 30 day lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is book cost + $20 processing fee.

Eastern Mennonite University

Library Website: http://www.emu.edu/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: https://my.emu.edu/ICS/Directory/

Student Directory: https://my.emu.edu/ICS/Directory/

Alternate URL: myEMU - https://my.emu.edu/ics

Lending Rules: 10 books/media at a time for 21 day/7 day lending periods, respectively. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is typically $45.

Emory & Henry College

Library Website: http://library.ehc.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.ehc.edu/profile-directory

Student Directory: http://www.ehc.edu/profile-directory

Lending Rules: 10 books or gov't docs at a time for a 30 day lending period with one renewal; other media lent on a case-by-case basis. No overdue fines; will bill for items more than 60 days overdue, $75/item. Cooperative borrowing is only for items located at Kelly Library, Emory & Henry College.

Ferrum College

Library Website: http://www.ferrum.edu/academics/stanley_library/index.html

Faculty / Staff Directory: http://www.ferrum.edu/about_ferrum/administration/offices_and_departments/human_resources/employment/directory.html

Student Directory: https://portal.ferrum.edu/ Students must login to PantherPortal to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: Five books at a time for a 30 day lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is book cost + $15 processing fee.

Germanna Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?gcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://applications.germanna.edu/phone-list/people_searchAD.asp

Student Directory: https://gcc.my.vccs.edu/jsp/login.jsp Students must log into myGCC show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 6 book/DVDs/audio books at a time for a 21 day lending period with one renewal. No overdue fines; replacement fee is $50 per item plus a $10 non-refundable processing fee. Damaged items deemed still able to circulate as evaluated by staff at time of return: $10 for excessive highlighting/marginalia or light to moderate damage.

Hampden-Sydney College

Library Website: http://www.hsc.edu/Library.html

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.hsc.edu/Directories/FacultyStaff-Directory.html

Student Directory: http://www.hsc.edu/Directories/Student-Directory-Index.html

Lending Rules: 10 books or gov't docs at a time for a 30 day lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is book cost + $10 processing fee.

Hollins University

Library Website: http://www.hollins.edu/academics/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.hollins.edu/forms/directory/index.cfm

Student Directory: https://my.hollins.edu/ Students must login to myHollins to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 10 books may be checked out for 28 days, with 1 possible renewal. 3 films or other media may be checked out for 28 days, with renewals TBD. See our Borrowing Policies page (http://www.hollins.edu/library/borrow/policies.shtml) for late fines and replacement charges. Wyndham Robertson Library will withhold borrowing privileges from any patron who does not comply with our borrowing policies and procedures.

J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?jsrcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.reynolds.edu/_contacts/default.htm

Student Directory: https://jsr.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp Students must login to myReynolds to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books/audiobooks at a time for a 28 day lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is $65.00 or cost of book, whichever is greater.

James Madison University

Library Website: http://www.lib.jmu.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.jmu.edu/directory/

Student Directory: http://www.jmu.edu/directory/

Lending Rules: 6 books or gov't docs at a time for a 21 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is book cost + processing fee.

Jefferson College of Health Sciences

Library Website: http://www.jchs.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.jchs.edu/faculty-staff-directory

Student Directory: https://www.e2campus.net/my/jchs/ Students must log into e2Campus to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 3 books at a time for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $.25/day to a $10 maximum; replacement fee is item cost + $10 processing fee.

John Tyler Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?jtcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://jtcc.edu/about/directory

Student Directory: http://jtcc.edu/mytyler/# Students must log into myTyler to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a four week lending period. Overdue fines are $.25/day to a $5 maximum; if items are overdue for more than 30 days they are considered delinquent or lost and patrons will be billed. Two additional notices are sent to the patron before the debt information is sent to the State of Virginia. Patrons will be billed for damaged items.

Liberty University

Library Website: http://www.liberty.edu/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: https://www.liberty.edu/index.cfm?PID=12289&searched=

Student Directory: https://mylu.liberty.edu Students must login to myLU to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 10 books at a time for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $.20/day to a $10 maximum; replacement fee is item cost + $10 processing fee.

Longwood University

Library Website: http://www.longwood.edu/library/index.htm

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.longwood.edu/directory/

Student Directory: https://directory.longwood.edu/ Students must login to LancerNet to show proof of enrollment. Also available: https://my.longwood.edu/cp/home/displaylogin

Lending Rules: Number of books (to be determined) for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is book cost + processing fee.

Lynchburg College

Library Website: http://www.lynchburg.edu/library.xml

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.lynchburg.edu/facultystaff-directory

Student Directory: https://mylc.lynchburg.edu/ Students must login to myLC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books/media at a time for a 28 day lending period. There are overdue fines; replacement fee is item cost + processing fee.

Mary Baldwin University

Library Website: http://www.marybaldwin.edu/grafton

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://academic.marybaldwin.edu/cis/search/facstaff/

Student Directory: https://mymbu.marybaldwin.edu/ICS/ Students must login to myMBC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is book cost + $20 processing fee.

Marymount University

Library Website: http://www.marymount.edu/academics/lls

Faculty/Staff Directory: https://www.marymount.edu/Home/Contact-Us/Faculty-Staff-Directory

Student Directory: https://my.marymount.edu Students must login to myMarymount to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a 28 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day up to a $10 maximum; replacement fee is $67 replacement fee + $30 processing fee + $10 overdue fine. No renewals.

New River Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?nrcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.nr.edu/employees/

Student Directory: https://nr.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp Students must log into myNRCC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 8 books/media at a time for a 2 week (books) or 1 week (media) lending period. Overdue materials will result in a block on your account.

Norfolk State University

Library Website: http://spartan270.nsu.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://finds.nsu.edu/rDirectory.aspx

Student Directory: https://my.nsu.edu Students must login to myNSU to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is book cost + processing fee.

Northern Virginia Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?nvcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.nvcc.edu/directory/

 

Student Directory: https://nvcc.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp Students must login to myNOVA to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 3 books or gov't docs/media at a time for 21 day/7 day lending periods, respectively. No overdue fines; replacement fee is item cost.

Old Dominion University

Library Website: http://www.odu.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.odu.edu/directory

Student Directory: http://www.odu.edu/directory

Lending Rules: 6 books or gov't docs/media at a time for a 21 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.10/day; replacement fee is $60 replacement fee + $20 processing fee.

Patrick Henry Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?phcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.ph.vccs.edu/profiles/

Student Directory: https://ph.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp Students must login to myPHCC to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 3 books at a time for a 28 day lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is book cost.

 

Piedmont Virginia Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?pvcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.pvcc.edu/faculty/

Student Directory: https://pv.my.vccs.edu/ Students must login to myPVCC to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 10 books/journals at a time for 28 day/7 day lending periods, respectively. No overdue fines; replacement fee is item cost.

Radford University

Library Website: http://library.radford.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: https://webapps.radford.edu/ru-directory/content/search/partialLastName

Student Directory: https://myru.radford.edu/cp/home/displaylogin Students must login to myRU to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 20 books/journals/media at a time for a 28 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is $35 + $10 processing fee.

Randolph-Macon College

Library Website: http://rmc.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://search.rmc.edu/alpha/default.aspx

Student Directory: http://mymaconweb.rmc.edu/ics Students must login to myMACONWEB to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 10 books at a time for a 4 week lending period with one renewal. Overdue fines are $.25/day; replacement fine is $75.00.

Rappahannock Community College

Library Website: http://www.rappahannock.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.rappahannock.edu/employees/directory/

Student Directory: https://rcc.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp Students must log into myRCC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 14 books/4 DVDs at a time for a period of 28 days/7 days respectively; no overdue fines, replacement fee is item cost.

Regent University

Library Website: http://www.regent.edu/lib/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.regent.edu/general/employee_search.cfm

Student Directory: http://my.regent.edu/ Students must login to myRegent to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 10 books at a time for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25/day; replacement fee is cost of the book + $25 processing fee.

Richard Bland College

Library Website: http://www.rbc.edu/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.rbc.edu/why-rbc/faculty-staff/presidents-council/

Student Directory: http://www.richardblandcollege.org/Richard-Bland-College-student-directory.php Students must login to RBC Blackboard to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 5 books and/or 2 audio recordings for 28 day lending period. 2 DVDs/VHS tapes for 7-day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.25 per day for books and audio recordings, and $1.00 per day for DVDs. Replacement fee is $50 for most items and $25 for entertainment DVDs.

Roanoke College

Library Website: http://libguides.roanoke.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: https://directory.roanoke.edu/search

Student Directory: https://directory.roanoke.edu/search Students must use the login on this page to show current proof of enrollment. Look for the words “current student” and a photo of the student.

Lending Rules: 10 books may be checked out for 28 days, with 1 possible renewal. 3 films or other media may be checked out for 28 days, with renewals TBD. Overdue fines are one dollar per day per item and items that are recalled are 3 dollars per day if a borrower cannot comply by returning Fintel Library item(s) within seven days of being emailed a recall notice. Fintel Library strongly encourages first time borrowers to email us at circulation@roanoke.edu before visiting so that we may provide you with an application and begin the process of setting up your borrowing privileges in advance of your first visit.

Roanoke Higher Education Center

Library Website: http://www.education.edu/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.education.edu/staff/

Student Directory:

Lending Rules:

Shenandoah University

Library Website: http://www.su.edu/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.su.edu/a/staff-directory/

Student Directory: https://learn.su.edu/webapps/login/ Students must login to SU Blackboard to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 10 books at a time for a 21 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.10/day up to a maximum of $10; replacement fee is book cost or $40 for out of print items.

Southern Virginia University

Library Website: http://svu.edu/library

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://svu.edu/directory/

Student Directory: Students must login to mySVU to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 10 books at a time for a 21 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.05/day; replacement fee is book cost + $5 processing fee.

Southside Virginia Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?svcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.southside.edu/school-staff

Student Directory: https://union-psce.blackboard.com/webapps/login/ Students must login to mySVCC to show proof of enrollment.

Lending Rules: 25 books/journals/media at a time for four weeks lending period; references are 7 days lending period. Replacement fee is $50 but if the item is part of a set, borrower is responsible for replacing the entire set.

Sweet Briar College

Library Website: http://library.sbc.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://sbc.edu/directory/

Student Directory: https://my.sbc.edu/ Students must login to mySBC to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 15 books or journals/media at a time for a 28/7 day lending period, respectively. There are overdue fines; replacement fee is typically item cost + $25 processing fee.

University of Mary Washington

Library Website: http://libraries.umw.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.umw.edu/directory/

Student Directory: http://www.umw.edu/directory/

Lending Rules: 5 books or gov't docs at a time for a 35 day lending period. There are overdue fines and replacement fees.

University of Richmond

Library Website: http://library.richmond.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://directory.richmond.edu/index.html

Student Directory: https://blackboard.richmond.edu/webapps/login/ Students must login to UoR Blackboard to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 10 books at a time for a 28 day lending period with two renewals. Items overdue for 20 days are subject to a replacement fee of $100.

University of Virginia, Alderman Library and Claude Moore Health Sciences Library

University of Virginia, Alderman Library Library Website: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://jm.acs.virginia.edu/commserv/phonebook/

Student Directory: http://jm.acs.virginia.edu/commserv/phonebook/

Lending Rules: 25 books, gov't docs, or journals at a time for a 30 day lending period. Overdue fines are $0.10/$1.00 per day for books/journals to a $5/$20 maximum, respectively; replacement fee is item cost.

 

University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library Library Website: http://www.hsl.virginia.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://jm.acs.virginia.edu/commserv/phonebook/

Student Directory: http://jm.acs.virginia.edu/commserv/phonebook/

Lending Rules: Unlimited number of books or media at a time for a 30 day lending period. There are overdue fines; replacement fee is item cost.

Virginia Commonwealth University, James Branch Cabell Library and Tompkins-McCaw Library

Virginia Commonwealth University, James Branch Cabell Library Library Website: http://www.library.vcu.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://my.vcu.edu/

Student Directory: http://blackboard.vcu.edu/

Lending Rules: 10 books, gov't docs, bound journals in storage, or media at a time for varying lending periods. There are overdue fines with a maximum of $10 per item; replacement fees are $100 minimum.

 

Virginia Commonwealth University, Tompkins-McCaw Library Library Website: http://www.library.vcu.edu/tml/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://my.vcu.edu/

Student Directory: http://blackboard.vcu.edu/

Lending Rules: 10 books, gov't docs, bound journals in storage, or media at a time for varying lending periods. There are overdue fines with a maximum of $10 per item; replacement fees are $160 minimum.

Virginia Military Institute

Library Website: http://www.vmi.edu/Show.aspx?tid=20389&id=312

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.vmi.edu/academics/library/about/departments-and-staff/

Student Directory: http://www.vmi.edu/about/directories/

Lending Rules: 15/10 books or gov't docs/media at a time for 28/7 day lending periods, respectively. There are no overdue fines; there are replacement fees.

Virginia State University

Library Website: http://library.vsu.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.vsu.edu/personnel-directory/index.php

Student Directory: https://blackboard.vsu.edu/webapps/portal/frameset.jsp Students must login to VSU Blackboard to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 15 books at a time for a 21 day lending period. There are no overdue fines; replacement fee is book cost + processing fee.

Virginia Tech

Library Website: http://www.lib.vt.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://search.vt.edu/search/people.html

Student Directory: http://search.vt.edu/search/m/people.html Faculty, Staff and Students must login to myVT to show status or proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 150 books at a time for a 30 day lending period. Fines and fees are to be determined.

Virginia Union University

Library Website: http://www.vuu.edu/library/home.htm

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://my.vuu.edu/ics/

Student Directory: http://my.vuu.edu/ics/ Faculty, Staff and Students must login to myVUU to show status or proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: 5 books at a time for a 21 day lending period. Overdue fines are 10 cents per day per item; replacement fee is book cost + processing fee.

Virginia Wesleyan College

Library Website: http://www.vwc.edu/library/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.vwc.edu/marlin-directory.php

Student Directory: https://virginiawesleyan.blackboard.com/webapps/login/ Students must login to VWC Blackboard to show proof of enrollment

Lending Rules: *No lending Oct 14, 2016 - Jan 5th 2017.* 6 books at a time for a 21 day lending period. There are no overdue fines; replacement fee is item cost + $10 processing fee.

Virginia Western Community College

Library Website: http://library.vccs.edu/cgi-bin/getlrc.plx?vwcc

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://www.virginiawestern.edu/directory/

Student Directory: https://vw.my.vccs.edu/jsp/home.jsp

Students must login to myVWCC to show proof of enrollment.

 

Lending Rules: 4 books or DVDs at a time for a 28 day (books) or 7 day (DVDs) lending period. No overdue fines; replacement fee is item cost.

Washington and Lee University

Library Website: http://library.wlu.edu/

Faculty/Staff Directory: http://managementtools.wlu.edu/Directory/

Student Directory: http://managementtools.wlu.edu/Directory/

Lending Rules: 5 books or gov't docs at a time for a 14 day lending period. There is a $5 overdue fine for books returned after they have been billed; replacement fee is $55 + the $5 overdue fine.