Skip to main content

VIVA Final Subpages: Mission and Vision

Virginia's Academic Library Consortium

This guide has variable layouts and houses the majority of the "sub" pages for VIVA's website.

 

Norfolk State University

Mission and Vision

The Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) is the consortium of nonprofit academic libraries within the Commonwealth of Virginia. Members include all of the 39 state-assisted colleges and universities (the 6 doctoral universities, 9 4-year institutions, and 24 community and two-year branch colleges), as well as 32 of the independent (private, nonprofit) institutions and the Library of Virginia.

Mission Statement
VIVA's mission is to provide, in an equitable, cooperative and cost-effective manner, enhanced access to library and information resources for the Commonwealth of Virginia's nonprofit academic libraries serving the higher education community.

What does VIVA do?
The Virtual Library of Virginia contributes to the excellence of higher education in Virginia through:

  • Enhanced support of resource sharing of Virginia's exceptional print and microform collections.
  • Shared access to online library resources and improved coordination of collection development throughout VIVA.
  • Educational and training opportunities for member libraries.

How does Virginia benefit from VIVA?
Virginia benefits academically.
VIVA:

  • Enhances learning and "levels the academic playing field" for Virginia students by providing equal access to high-quality electronic resources to students at all member institutions and by facilitating interlibrary loans throughout the state.
  • Provides over 400,000 Virginia students with 24/7 access to tens of thousands of electronic books and journals, hundreds of research databases, and a wealth of academic and professional working papers, proceedings, and transactions, all covering subject areas from science, medicine, and technology to the arts and humanities.
  • Speeds information delivery between libraries by providing software, equipment, and support to interlibrary lending.

Virginia benefits financially.
VIVA:

  • Brings $5 of value for every $1 spent. VIVA's cooperative purchasing of resources, sometimes for as little as 8% list price for individual institutional, has resulted in more than $500 million in cost avoidance for the Commonwealth.
  • Improves faculty and staff productivity through improved intermural access to the vast collections of Virginia's academic libraries.
  • Saves institutional money and staff time by avoiding duplication of collections.
  • Utilizes technology throughout the state to avoid duplication of efforts by individual institutions.

VIVA History
VIVA history can be found in the Special Collections and Archives of George Mason University. There are documents and correspondence from the development and operations of the consortium from its founding onward.