The Virtual Library of Virginia
Search the VIVA website:

VIVA Authentication Workshop: December 9, 1997

VIVA hosted a workshop on remote user authentication for restricted databases on December 9, 1997 at Virginia Commonwealth University. There were more than fifty attendees at the workshop. Featured speakers were:

 

Also available is an Authentication, Proxies, Caching bibliography, prepared by John Doyle (Washington & Lee) and Bob Grattan (Mary Washington).

Attendees of the VIVA Authentication Workshop

Place Name Email
Averett Felts, John Jr jfelts@averett.averett.edu
Blue Ridge CC Gray, David BRGRAYD@BR.CC.VA.US
Blue Ridge CC Moran, Frank BRMORAF@br.cc.va.us
Bridgewater College Jennifer Keach jkeach@bridgewater.edu
College of W&M-TIC-trainer Lundy, Mack mack@janus.swem.wm.edu
Eastern Mennonite Shenk, Audrey shenkaj@emu.edu
Eastern VA Med. School Harris, Richard J rjh@tess.evms.edu
Eastern VA Med. School Robinson, Judith jgr@tess.evms.edu
GMU Perry, Kathy kperry@fen1.gmu.edu
GMU-TIC-trainer Grotophorst, Wally wallyg@timesync.gmu.edu
Hollins Baker, Tammy K. tbaker@hollins.edu
John Tyler CC Rubes, Larry lrubes@jt.cc.va.us
John Tyler CC Smith, Michael msmith01@jt.cc.va.us
Longwood Howe, Pat phowe@longwood.lwc.edu
Longwood Martin, Ken kmartin@longwood.lwc.edu
Longwood Tsigaridis, Greg gtsigari@longwood.lwc.edu
Mary Baldwin Creager, Carol ccreager@cit.mbc.edu
Mary Baldwin Betlej, Bill bbetlej@cit.mbc.edu
Mary Baldwin Taylor, Brent btaylor@cit.mbc.edu
Mary Washington Lanspery, Brad blansper@mwcgw.mwc.edu
Mary Washington Grattan, Bob bgrattan@mwcgw.mwc.edu
Mary Washington Strohl, Roy lstrohl@mwcgw.mwc.edu
Northern VA CC Marhanka, Beth nvmarhb@nv.cc.va.us
Northern VA CC Versteegen, Jami nvversj@nv.cc.va.us
Northern VA CC Iturralde, Felipe nviturf@nv.cc.va.us
NVCC Ballard, Lowell ballalw@erols.com
NVCC - Loudoun Egan, Jennifer nveganj@nv.cc.va.us
ODU-TIC-trainer Barry, Jeff barry@lib.odu.edu
ODU O'Herron, Virginia vso100f@lib.odu.edu
ODU Vaughn, Karen ksv100f@lib.odu.edu
Piedmont VA CC Cahill, Linda J. LJC2D@jade.pvcc.cc.va.us
Piedmont VA CC Batten, Gregg GAB2D@JADE.PVCC.CC.VA.US
Piedmont VA CC Lafferty, Mac RML2D@JADE.PVCC.CC.VA.US
Piedmont VA CC Reese, Virginia VR2D@JADE.PVCC.CC.VA.US
Radford University Hendrickson, Doris dhendric@runet.edu
Radford University Helm, Steven shelm@runet.edu
Randolph Macon Mason, Shaun smason@rmc.edu
Roanoke College Umberger, Stan umberger@roanoke.edu
SCHEV Pfeiffer, Carol pfeiffer@schev.edu
Tidewater CC Dave Hodge tchodgd@vb.tc.cc.va.us
Tidewater CC Jacque Dessino tcdessj@tc.cc.va.us
University of Richmond Woodall, Nancy nwoodall@richmond.edu
UVA Bishop, Esther estherbishop@virginia.edu
UVA Campbell, Jim campbell@virginia.edu
UVA Hoebeke, Chris chh4n@virginia.edu
VCCS Creighton, LaVonn lcreighton@vccs.cc.va.us
VCCS Damon, Gene gdamon@vccs.cc.va.us
VCU Burgmeier, Mike nmburgme@saturn.vcu.edu
VCU Duke, John jkduke@vcu.edu
VMI Samdahl, Don samdahldh@vax.vmi.edu
Virginia Tech-TIC-trainer Haggerty, Peter peter.haggerty@vt.edu
Virginia Tech-TIC Hitchingham, Eileen hitch@vt.edu
Virginia Tech-TIC Armstrong, Alan armstrng@vt.edu
Virginia Tech McMillan, Gail gailmac@vt.edu
Washington & Lee Doyle, John doyle@liberty.uc.wlu.edu

 

Authentication, Proxies, and Caching Bibliography

This is a brief list of selected resources to accompany the VIVA workshop on Proxies and User Authentication held Tuesday, December 9, on the VCU campus. These are merely suggestions for further research and investigation on the topic to supplement those supplied by the presenters.

Proxy Options:


Selected Articles:

 

 

 

VIVA is funded by the Virginia General Assembly and the VIVA member institutions, and is sponsored by the State Council of Higher Education (SCHEV).